Love/Hate Revisions

So, as the title suggests, I’ve entered that love/hate relationship with revising my first draft. I’ve just barely begun (partway through revising Whispers of Nowhere’s second chapter), and I’m dreading the rest.

It’s one thing when I’m simply tweaking a sentence, or even a full paragraph. It’s quite another when I’m changing some of the events entirely. I think lack of confidence in my own abilities is the primary culprit, to be honest. I feel like I’m writing more with my head than my heart…and falling short, regardless. I’m overthinking every little thing, and it’s dampening the enthusiasm I experienced prior to starting revisions.

When I performed the read-through (where you literally force yourself not to edit a single thing, but view the story from an outsider’s point of view), I knew precisely what I had to do. Since starting version two, however? I’m somewhere between overwhelmed with the info I knew I wanted to change, and lost with everything else. >.<

In sum, I expect the fourth panel image below to eventually come to pass.

The first three phases have been pretty accurate, so why should that one be any different? 😛 The question is…will phase 3 be done first, or does phase 4 start partway through? 😉

In all seriousness, no–I’m not going to become an alcoholic. I just get the feeling it will tempt me to drink at times, and that I might indulge here and there.

Wish me luck; may the second draft be more promising than the first!

About rebeldynasty

Hello, there, and welcome to my humble little corner of the internet! Here you will find posts about my literary journey, and all the ups and downs that come with it. If you want to get in touch, please don't hesitate to drop me a line. ^^
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

