Drawing Inspiration from Other Forms of Media

Hello, all!

Since it’s been awhile since I’ve had cause to provide an update on my writerly progress, I figured now would be as good a time as any. Additionally, I thought this would also be a good opportunity to shed some light on a number of things that have been making my personal process a bit smoother of late.

I don’t know what kind of summer (or winter for those of you on the opposite side of the globe) everyone else has been having, but mine’s been fairly busy–which has made focusing on my work, even on the days when nothing else demands my attention, quite a bit more difficult. So much so, that I’ve gone to bed feeling discouraged most days, regardless of the fact that even a little work is better than none at all.

Image result for whispers of the heart gif

However, in the past week, I’ve found it easier to fill my personal writerly quota per day, and I think two things in particular have helped me a great deal in that regard; more so in relation to working on Shadow & Flame than on Arcane Guardian, given the similar themes between the former and these two specific things. But I think in this case, the adage, “What is good for the goose is good for the gander” applies. At least to a point.

So, I don’t recall if I’ve mentioned this in past entries or not, but Shadow & Flame is intended to have a sort of urban fantasy, supernatural crime noir feel to it. That’s at least what I’m hoping for anyway, and the feeling I often try to harness and convey while writing it. What seems to be helping me out of my most recent “not quite, but on the cusp of being one” rut is:

  1. Watching Gotham,

Image result for Gotham

and

2. Reading more of The Dresden Files.

Image result for The Dresden Files

The first I’ve only recently gotten into, as I’ve been in something of a Batman mood lately, and my fascination with some the villains seems to be a thirst I can’t quench.

Image result for Dr. Crane isn't here right now

(Yes, I know, that’s not a scene from Gotham. So far, the Dark Knight trilogy version of Dr. Crane is still my favourite movie/show representation).

What tipped me off that watching the show was helping was the fact that, while watching it, I found myself going into full-analysis mode–without even trying. I couldn’t help but wonder about characters as they were being introduced; their backgrounds, what led them to where they are, and the direction they were headed in. I found myself focusing on their expressions and body language, things tipping off the catalysts for these soon-to-be criminals, and recognizing when a tip-off was to be the first of many before things officially came to a head.  On top of that, I started paying a great deal of attention to environment, something I’ve been sort of blind to lately, being overly distracted by one thing or another. It was like seeing things for the first time.

This isn’t new behaviour for me in the slightest, regardless of how it feels every time it makes an appearance after a long absence. I’ve done this with many a movie, show, or videogame, though most notably while not on a writing streak. This, I feel, is helping monumentally in the way I convey my own characters and their circumstances, given the gritty, yet corny feel that is Gotham.

As to The Dresden Files; for those of you who don’t know it, it’s a book series a friend introduced me to a couple of years ago, and one I’ve been steadily collecting between other novels. As I’ve been reading three of them back-to-back, they’ve become the proverbial kindling for Shadow & Flame, given the kindred investigative, cloak-and-dagger natures of their storylines.

Mark me–I’m not copying the plot lines of either Gotham or The Dresden Files, but merely drawing from the overall tone they exude; essentially, I’m drawing from the narrative style, without actually losing my own (which, to be honest, I’m not entirely sure what to classify it as; I’ve no name for my style whatsoever).

In any case, as stated before; it may not be a big help in regards to Arcane Guardian, since it isn’t supposed to be of a noir persuasion, but I think the simple act of being able to tap into a well of inspiration, of being able to apply it to one of my novels, allows me to draw from the creative well in general.

That about sums things up, on the inspiration front. So, how about it? What kinds of things do you draw on when you’re in a bit of a rut? What do you find inspiring you lately, or what do you find inspires you on a near-daily basis, from one project to another–be it writing, drawing, sculpting, music, what-have-you? Feel free to drop me a line in the comments.

Until next time, ta-ta for now! ^^

 

 

About rebeldynasty

Hello, there, and welcome to my humble little corner of the internet! My name is Shannon, and I've wanted to be a writer for the better majority of my life. In the last 4+ years, I've begun taking the steps necessary to get myself to that point. I am currently working on a trilogy under the title, "Whispers of Nowhere". I started outlining the first book, "Whispers of Nowhere" between late 2013 and early 2014, and officially began writing the first draft May 2014. As of Dec 2016, it has undergone a multitude of edits, and four complete drafts. I began outlining the second book in the series, "Fall of the Spectrum" in May of 2015, began the first draft September 2015, and completed it nearly a full year after outlining--May 2016. That same month, I began outlining the third book, "The Mythos Trials"; the first draft of which officially started early June 2016, ending in November of the same year. On the side, I am outlining two prequel origin stories, plus a spin-off prequel that serves as the bridge between the origin stories and the Whispers of Nowhere trilogy; Shattered Time. In sum, I'll be neck-deep in writing for quite some time. If you're interested in seeing some of my work, don't hesitate to ask. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Drawing Inspiration from Other Forms of Media

  1. Glad to read that you continue to progress, Shannon! I’m not much of a movie watcher (at least of anything made since 1959!) but aside from reading and long walks in Nature, music is my go-to inspiration source. While my musical tastes are broad and deep, it’s generally Classical or Romantic period music – Sibelius is a firm favorite, and Brahms, Shostakovic, Debussy and Chopin. There are many others, but those are the composers who spring to mind as likely to inspire stories and characters. Sibelius, especially.

    • rebeldynasty says:

      Thank you! Music is my default source as well. ^^ Heh, I’d be surprised if Sibelius wasn’t the favourite; I can’t say whether I’ve ever heard it, but maybe I’ll give it a listen sometime. No doubt our intellectual, charismatic Simian friend was greatly influenced by that piece, eh? 😉

      Thanks so much for your comments as always, Austin. They’re a pleasure to read. ^^

Leave a Reply

